Ireland	Latvia	Poland	

Third countries associated to the Programme <sup>20</sup>			
North Macedonia	Iceland	Norway	
Serbia	Liechtenstein	Türkiye	

## THIRD COUNTRIES NOT ASSOCIATED TO THE PROGRAMME

The following countries can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions (please consult Part B of this Guide for the exact list of eligible countries for each specific action). Funding will be allocated to organisations in the countries within their territories as recognised by international law. Funding must respect any restrictions placed on EU external assistance imposed by the European Council. Applications have to be in line with the overall EU values of respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities as foreseen in Article 2 of the Treaty of the European Union.

The following third countries not associated to the Programme are regrouped according to the EU's external action instruments, namely the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation – Global Europe Instrument (NDICI-Global Europe)<sup>21</sup> and the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPAIII)<sup>22</sup>.

Western Balkans (Region 1)	Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo <sup>23</sup> , Montenegro
Neighbourhood East (Region 2)	Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law
South-Mediterranean	Algeria, Egypt, Israel <sup>24</sup> , Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine <sup>25</sup> , Syria <sup>26</sup> , Tunisia

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>20</sup> Subject to the signature of the Association Agreements between the European Union and those countries.

22 https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2021/1529

<sup>21</sup> Official Journal L 209/2021 (europa.eu)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>23</sup> This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>24</sup> The eligibility criteria formulated in Commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide, including with respect to third parties receiving financial support in the cases where the respective action involves financial support to third parties by grant beneficiaries in accordance with article 204 of the EU's Financial Regulation.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>25</sup> This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

 $<sup>^{26}</sup>$  In line with the April 2018 Council Conclusions on Syria, Syrian public establishments are not eligible for funding under Erasmus+.

countries	
(Region 3)	
Russian Federation (Region 4)	Territory of Russia as recognised by international law
Region 5 Asia <sup>27</sup>	Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam High income countries: Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Macao, Singapore and Taiwan
Region 6 Central Asia <sup>28</sup>	Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
Region 7 Middle East	Iran, Iraq, Yemen High income countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates
Region 8 Pacific <sup>29</sup>	Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu High income countries: Australia, New Zealand
Region 9 Sub-Saharan Africa <sup>30 31</sup>	Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo - Democratic Republic of the, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Region 10 Latin America	Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela
Region 11 Caribbean <sup>32</sup>	Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad & Tobago
Region 12 US and Canada	United States of America, Canada

The following third countries not associated to the Programme are not covered by the External Action Instruments:

Region 13	Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State
Region 14	Faroe Islands, Switzerland, United Kingdom

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>27</sup> The least developed countries amongst these countries can be found at: DAC-List-of-ODA-Recipients-for-reporting-2022-23-flows.pdf (oecd.org)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>28</sup> As above

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>29</sup> As above

<sup>30</sup> As above

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>31</sup> The following are migration key third countries not associated to the Programme: Burkina-Faso, Burundi, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>32</sup> The least developed countries amongst these countries can be found at: DAC-List-of-ODA-Recipients-for-reporting-2022-23-flows.pdf (oecd.org)